Beetle metamorphosis – pictures, stages, cycles and explanations

Beetle Metamorphosis – Beetles are insects that undergo holometabolous metamorphosis. Holometabola are insects that undergo complete metamorphosis. See our discussion of beetle metamorphosis material below for more details.

beetle metamorphosis

beetle metamorphosis

Beetle including insects undergoing holometabolic metamorphosis. Holometabola are insects that undergo complete metamorphosis. The stages of the insect cycle that undergo complete metamorphosis begin with the egg – larva – pupa – imago stage. Larvae are young animals with different shapes and characteristics than adults. While the pupa is a cocoon in which the insect is not performing any activities at this time, refinement and formation of organs takes place at this time. Imago is the adult phase or breeding phase.

As already explained, beetles go through a complete metamorphosis. This means that they go through 4 different phases of the process during development. These processes are egg, larva, pupa and adult. The larval stage is not similar to the adult stage. The summary of these phases is as follows:

beetle metamorphosis

1. Bug Eggs

Eggs are eggs produced by female beetles and laid in large numbers (groups) or individually. In a few days the eggs will hatch and the young beetles will be born. In some cases, the female beetles do not provide food or other care for the young beetles and they are left to their own devices, meaning they must find their own food to survive. Before hatching, however, the beetle eggs are usually deposited near or in a suitable food source for the larvae while they are still eggs.

2. Beetle larva

In the second stage, after hatching from eggs, larvae shaped like worms begin to feed. As the larva grows, it goes through several stages or instars. Each instar ends with moulting larvae to allow their growth. Depending on the species, the number of molts can be as little as 3 or more. The body of beetle larvae has a variety of different shapes. The most common are C-shaped, wireworm-like, caterpillar-like, and campodeiform.

3. Doll Kumbag

After reaching the final stage, the larvae move on to the next stage, namely the pupal stage. This stage serves as a transitional stage in which the larvae become adults. Pupae are usually pale in color.

4. Adult beetle

The last stage of development is reached when the pupae molt. The new adult bug that appears is the Teneral – a soft, pale exoskeleton. It usually only takes a few hours for the mass to harden and for a mature color to appear.

life cycle of the beetle

In the classification of all species of beetles belonging to the Coleapteran nation. Coleoptera itself is the group with the most members among other insect nations. There are about 300,000 species of beetles in this world. The beetle goes through four different stages during its life. First, the insect is an egg, from which a worm-like larva hatches. Insect larvae are called maggots.

Because they eat voraciously, this is the only period in the beetle’s life when it gains weight. The ladybug is never a big beetle and always belongs to a different breed. If the jar is too big for the skin, it will fall off or shed. White grubs can molt 5-6 times before they are fully grown.

Once they find a place to protect, the maggot becomes a cocoon that stops eating and does not move while continuing to change size. Finally, the adult beetle emerges from the cocoon.
Beetles typically only live 2 to 6 months. However, some can live for several years, such as the wood borer beetle. Thousands of beetle species are noxious pests that damage trees, crops, processed foods and clothing.

Hence our discussion of beetle metamorphosis material. Might be useful.

More articles:

  • Frog Metamorphosis – Pictures, Processes, Cycles, Stages & Explanations
  • Ant Metamorphosis – Picture, Process, Cycle, Stages and Explanation
  • Bee Metamorphosis – Pictures, Process, Stages and Explanations

Read More :   Link Bokeh 18 American 2018 HOT Video No Sensor Full Update 2022