Animal species and animal classification

Animal species and animal classification – There are about a million species of animals with very different body structures and shapes. Animals inhabit almost every ecosystem on Earth, but most animal species live in water. The animals are further classified based on certain criteria. For more details, we will discuss the material types of animals and the classification of animals below.

types of animals

animal is a eukaryotic organism (has a cell nucleus), multicellular (has many cells), has no cell wall, has no chlorophyll, so it lives as a heterotrophic organism and can move the body to find food or defend itself from predators or predators .

There are about a million species of animals with very different body structures and shapes. Animals inhabit almost every ecosystem on Earth, but most animal species live in water. The animals are further classified based on certain criteria. The following is a classification of animals based on their habitat, breeding methods, body covering, food, and exercise, as for the explanation as follows:

A. Types of animals based on their habitat

The classification of animals according to their place of residence can be divided into 3 types, namely:

1. Animals that live on land
Animals that live or live on land are referred to as land animals. Examples of land animals are: horses, cows, goats, tigers, lions, cats and the like.

2. Animals that live in water
Animals that live or live in water are called aquatic animals. Examples of aquatic animals include: fish, shrimp, squid, whale, dolphin, squid, and the like.

3. Animals that live in water and on land (amphibians)
Besides terrestrial and aquatic creatures, there are also terrestrial and aquatic creatures. These animals are called amphibians. Examples of amphibians are salamanders and frogs. Frogs begin life in water. As adults, frogs undergo changes. Then adult frogs live on land and in water.

B. Types of animals based on how they reproduce

Animals are classified according to their breeding into 3 types, namely ovivar (laying eggs), vivivar (giving birth) and ovovivivar (laying eggs and giving birth).

1. Animals are oviparous (lay eggs)

Oviparous animals are animals that reproduce by laying eggs. The formed embryo then grows outside of the parent’s body into a new individual (child), which develops inside the egg before hatching into a new individual.

There are two types of fertilization processes in egg-laying animals, namely internal fertilization and external fertilization. Internal fertilization is the process of fertilization of the ovum by sperm taking place in the body of the parent female animals, such as in chickens (birds, including avians) and turtles (reptiles). While external fertilization is the fertilization process that takes place outside the body of the female parent, for example: fish and frogs.

Examples of egg-laying animals are birds, turtles, lizards, tortoises, ducks and fish.

2. Viviparous animals (calve / give birth)
Animals classified as viviparous animals are animals that reproduce through birth or birth. The formed embryo grows into a new individual in the womb until it is ready for birth.

Livebearing animals are included in the class of mammals or mammals such as dolphins, tigers, cows, tigers, elephants, cats, buffalo and goats.

3. Ovoviviparous animals (lay eggs and give birth).
Animals belonging to the ovoviparous animals are animals whose fertilization process takes place in the body of the female parent. Where the results of this fertilization then form eggs and are still in the womb of the female parent. And after the fetus has started or developed perfectly, the eggs are ready to be removed from the female parent’s body.

The eggs then hatch as soon as they leave the mother’s body. Examples of ovoviparous animals are sharks, several species of lizards, and several species of snakes and the like.

C. Types of animals based on their body coverings

The following types of animals are based on their shell or body armor:

1. Animals with hair
In animals, hair serves as a protective covering for their skin. Animals with thick hair like cats, rabbits, bears and dogs. B. for thin-haired animals such as cows, buffalo and rats.

2. Fur animals
Examples of feathered animals are ducks, geese, birds and chickens. Duck feathers will not get wet even if the duck swims in the water because it has a layer of oil on it. The feathers also help the animal fly.

3. Scaly animals
Examples of scaled animals like lizards, snakes, and fish Snake scales help them move on the ground. Fish scales help fish move in water. Scales also cover the animal’s body. Examples are reptiles and fish. Reptiles are reptiles. Like snakes, crocodiles and lizards. Fish and reptile scales are different.

Fish scales are always slimy. This slime also makes it easier for the fish to move around in the water. The fish can move freely in the water. Move to find food and breed. The scales of dry reptiles are not slimy. These scales are useful as body armor. Namely through the influence of temperature and evaporation on their habitat.

4. Animal Shells

Animals protected by shells. Examples like snails and snails. The shell is a hard, calcareous substance. The shell protects the soft parts of the animal’s body.

D. Types of animals based on their diet

The classification of animals by type of feed is carried out in:

1. Herbivorous Animals (Herbivores)
Some herbivores eat leaves and others eat grass, such as cows and goats. There are also herbivores that eat seeds, such as pigeons, turtles and parakeets. And there are herbivores that eat fruit, like bats and parrots.

2. Carnivorous Animals (Carnivores)
Examples of carnivorous animals (herbivores) are lions, crocodiles, tigers, eagles and sharks. But not all carnivores eat meat because some eat insects. Examples of animals that eat insects are lizards and frogs.

3. Animals that eat everything (omnivores)
Animals that eat both plants and meat are called omnivores. Omnivores eat plants and the flesh of other animals. Examples of omnivores are chickens, ducks and bears. Because chickens eat corn, rice and also worms. Bears eat both fish and leaves.

E. Types of animals based on their movement

Classification of animals based on the way they move, including as follows:

1. animal walking
Animals that perform activities by walking have strong legs with soles specially designed for walking. Examples of animals that can walk are chickens, horses, species, elephants and the like.

2. Jumping animals
In addition to walking, there are also animals that perform their activities by jumping to move to another place. Jumping animals have legs. The hind legs are long and strong. Examples like frogs, kangaroos and rabbits.

3. Flying animals

Animals perform activities by flying, flying with their wings. Various species of birds move by flying. Examples like bats, butterflies and bees.

4. Animals swim
Aquatic animals that perform their activities by swimming use their respective means of locomotion. For example, seals and penguins swim using their wings and legs. Fish swim with their fins and tail.

5. Creeping animals
Reptiles are animals that move with abdominal muscles. Examples of leeches, worms and snakes.

6. Crawling or crawling animals
An animal that has legs, but not for standing, but for moving its body. When moving, this animal’s stomach is attached to the ground. Examples of crawling or crawling animals are komodo dragons, crocodiles, geckos, lizards and the like.

Hence our discussion of the material types of animal classification. Might be useful.

More articles:

  • The Life Cycle of the Chicken – Cycles, Phases, Sequences, Pathways and Images
  • The Life Cycle of Fasciola Hepatica – Explanation, Schemes and How to Grow
  • The Life Cycle of Flies – Cycles, Phases, Stages, Pathways & Pictures

Read More :   Who Steals The Show App Download For Android Free